The Department of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences (DipSCF) was founded in 2012 from the merging of the personnel of the Departments of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences. 46 teaching members and 22 technical and administrative employees work at DipSCF that hosts also 4 scientists of the National Research Council, (ISOF institute).

DipSCF includes the following main scientific areas: Analytical Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Technology, Physical Chemistry, Inorganic and Organic areas, Industrial chemistry, Food chemistry.

The Department promotes leading scientific activities in many research fields: fine chemicals, naturally occurring substances, pharmaceutically active molecules, food chemistry, chemistry for energy, environmental chemistry, reactivity and catalysis, photochemistry, electrochemistry, theoretical and computational chemistry, analytical and physico-chemical techniques for structural characterization, synthesis and application of new materials, supramolecular photochemistry, and new generation solar devices.

State-of-the-art facilities are available at DipSCF, such as high-field NMR, mass (equipped with various ionization modes) and EPR spectrometers, autonomous computational facility, SEM, single crystal and powder XRD, XPS, scanning probe microscopy STM / AFM and time-resolved femtosecond and nanosecond laser equipments. In addition the department hosts fully automated protein synthesis apparatuses and all key instrumentations for the synthesis and characterization of chemical compounds.

Teaching members, research associates and technical personnel are actively committed to support the research and the student training. DipSCF offers a B.Sc. program in Chemistry and two M.Sc. programs in Chemical Sciences and in Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Technologies, as well as a graduate program in Chemical Sciences.